My Review : Udta Punjab

Prelude :

So, before I get on with my review..A big shout out..a loud one-)
I have finally watched the most awaited, most controversial, the most hyped,the most talked about film UDTA Punjab.
Btw, I have a shoot tom & I am awake at this time of the night and penning down my review..trust me this very film is absolutely worth all the fuss.

“Choose Life. Choose a job. Choose a career… But why would I want to do a thing like that?” Even if you haven’t seen Udta Punjab or Trainspotting, you’ll be aware of the opening lines of Danny Boyle’s 1996 masterpiece. ( this film reminded me of it).

There have been plenty of films about the drug culture, almost all of them adopting a moral tone that liberals can conveniently call ‘responsible’. But there have been none quite like Abhishek Chaubey’s Latest flick Udta Punjab.

When this film was announced, I initially thought it to be a romantic Punjabi Love story..but trust me..I was wrong-(

Review :

I wish everyone I care about would see ‘Udta Punjab. Not because they will like it, or that it will teach them something they did not already know, but that it’s a rare piece of work that will challenge and probably change them.
It’s a film that has never been made before, with nothing to compare to it – a rarity these days. I often find myself recommending films to people that I am unable to briefly describe.
These are usually the most involving and affecting ones. I’d like my family to see this, but I doubt I’ll be in the frame of mind to watch it again.

This movie shows the brutal honest side of addiction and over-indulgence.
Not just drugs, although it heavily shows drug addiction. Also shows how damaging it can be for you.
Seriously, this is a brutal film.

Synopsis :

Director Abhishek Chaubey showcases his story with a lot of promise and takes the audience through a terrific journey only to give us a real feel. Grass is not always greener on the other side.

We are introduced to the fading rockstar, Tommy Singh (Shahid Kapoor), who is most of the time doped through his career. He is caught, beaten and put behind bars for his sins.

Then enters the Bihari hockey player (Alia Bhatt) who aspires for a better life gets stuck in the entire drug racket and her life gets doomed. It’s not her cup of tea.

Similarly Sartaj (Diljit Dosanjh), a junior officer in Punjab Police, has questionable morality. He doesn’t get a hang of the reality until Dr Preet (Kareena Kapoor) shows him the actual picture and how his own brother is a druggie and destroying his life.
Rest of the story talks about these 4 lives and how are their ‘ war against drugs’

Technical :

Witty, sleek, cocky & humorous, Udta Punjab works mostly because of its strong script and the characters, though the second half is no match for the first. Sometimes though, the narrative keeps dragging in search of closure.

Udta Punjab is brave enough to bring a humour and levity to the subject of drug abuse, without ever ignoring the accompanying and unavoidable self destruction and devastation. We might laugh at the antics of Tommy but can’t ignore the harsh truth he is going through.

Often hype about films lead to disappointment and after waiting and hearing about it so much before release for my local cinema to show this film, I was done thinking about it.
Thank goodness too, rather than challenge my brain (not hard to do unfortunately) this film went straight for the heart, got me hooked for more than 2 hours.

The cinematography of Rajeev Ravi gives total light on the characterizations of the actors inhabiting the sick world of drugs from the steady cam movements to the exaggerated wide angle shots and the beautifully sad and haunting lush green fields of Punjab.
This film suggests a certain beauty amidst all the sadness and depravity.

Performances :

According to me, I loved Diljit Dosanjh & Kareena Kapoor Khan‘s story track the most interesting and lovable. Punjabi super star Diljit Dosanjh is likable and has done a convincing job.

Alia Bhatt steals the show and Shahid Kapoor‘s track is the most boring of them all but funny and hilarious sometimes.

All performances are the high point of the film.

However, if you believe that cinema is an important tool in helping us understand ourselves and that we will only achieve self awareness then you must watch Udta Punjab

Verdict :

Overall, Udta Punjab is not a movie for everyone. It is the essence of independent filmmaking, a daring, engrossing, artful film that stays with you long after you leave the theater. Bollywood bubblegum this ain’t. A MUST WATCH…please watch it in the theater and don’t support Piracy….

Leave a Reply

